Special thanks to
the 2013 Spectrum of Democracy sponsors

Premium Sponsors
Parker Poe
Public Policy Polling
Table Sponsors
Ellis & Winters
The Honorable Melanie Wade Goodwin,
NCCVE Board Member
The Honorable Wayne Goodwin,
Past President of NCCVE
Jim & Tamara Slaughter Family
Ellis & Winters
Womble Carlyle
Host Sponsors
Farah & Cammarano, P.A. Bill Gilkeson
Wayne Goodwin N.C. Mutual Life
Poyner Spruill WakeUp Wake County
The Honorable Grier Martin

2013 Spectrum of Democracy Awards
Honoring vital contributions to North Carolina's democracy

The N.C. Center for Voter Education was pleased to honor the recipients of the 2013 Spectrum of Democracy Awards at a dinner event in downtown Raleigh on Feb. 21.

We greatly appreciate the attendees and sponsors for making the 4th annual event a tremendous success and we are profoundly grateful to the award recipients for their vital contributions to North Carolina's democracy.




Meet this year's recipients of the Spectrum of Democracy Awards

John L. Sanders – Robert Morgan Service Award

John Sanders directed the Institute of Government at UNC-Chapel Hill for 24 years, where he researched, wrote books and taught public officials about the role of government. He played a pivotal part in developing the statewide community college system, integrating the University of North Carolina and in preserving the State Capitol building.

A native of Johnston County, he was vital in the creation of the current North Carolina Constitution, adopted in 1971, as he served as a trusted resource for lawmakers in crafting that document. Mr. Sanders has been called "North Carolina's invisible hand" because of his decades of humble, dedicated service in helping to shape politics, law and government in our state.

John Sanders is this year's recipient of the Robert Morgan Service Award, named in honor of former U.S. Sen. Robert B. Morgan, president emeritus of the N.C. Center for Voter Education.

DeWarren K. Langley – Outstanding Citizen

Since his teen years, DeWarren K. Langley has been serving his hometown of Durham. At the age of 16, he founded the nonprofit Teenagers Politically Active, which was instrumental in the city council's creation of the Durham Youth Commission, designed to advise local officials on issues facing the area's young citizens. Mr. Langley is currently a member of several boards, including Kids Voting Durham, where he plays a key role in engaging young people in politics and elections.

Adrian Maynor – Outstanding Public Servant

Adrian Maynor is a 2nd grade teacher at J.S. Waters School in Chatham County. In 2012, she organized grades K-8 in a school-wide mock election and led students on a field trip to the local courthouse to learn about the judicial system and witness a mock trial. Ms. Maynor gives young people firsthand experience in democratic values by allowing her students to discuss and vote on issues that affect their classroom.

The Daily Tar Heel – Outstanding Media Organization

Founded in 1893, The Daily Tar Heel is the independent student newspaper at UNC-Chapel Hill with a daily readership of 38,000. Some 80 part-time student employees and another 150 or more student volunteers work to produce a newspaper that excels in its articles on campus issues, while also taking readers well beyond Chapel Hill. In 2012, The Daily Tar Heel provided in-depth reporting on state and national elections, along with ongoing coverage of North Carolina government.


Meet the recipients of the 2012 Spectrum of Democracy Award here.